Go Social With Genealogy

Using social media to find resources and share what you know

19 Ways to Go Social With Genealogy


After reflecting on how far we have come over recent years and the numerous ways we can now find assistance and make new connections using social media, I made a rough list of the types of media we use.   Once I made this list, I decided that I am more determined than ever to make sure that anyone following me can find a place where they can meet some of the great forces and people in the genealogy community.

I can remember the day long before the internet when I ran out of resources to tap and people to ask advice.  That was so frustrating.  When I see people take the time out of their hectic lives to answer others, I am so grateful.  No one has all the answers, but together on social media, we make a powerful difference.

It can be frustrating to learn new technology especially when it seems to change as soon as you get comfortable.  You do not have to be everywhere, but you do need to find the right places that suit you and where others have experience researching the same areas and topics.  Who knows where that place will be?  One would think it would be places like Facebook or Twitter since they are the most widely used.  You could also imagine that a forums centered around research in your area would be the best place.

What is so interesting today with so many people engaged online, is that you never know where you will find success.  I am finding extended family with resources to share in a Facebook community that I created.  I was just hoping that I would discover someone if I created a county page.  I never thought it would actually happen, especially after only 22 likes (Richland County African American Genealogy), and that is not the only Facebook page that that has happened!  It was worth the time creating and promoting that one page if nothing else happens.

There are many desperately seeking ways to identify their ancestors.  I hear from several daily.  While I do not have all the answers, I am happy to continue to identify places where people are connecting and working to solve these challenges.  I am even happy to create a few spots where I see enough people are gathered, LOL!

The newer graphic includes media I had not even heard of when I created this one for a social group on the Research Forums at FamilySearch:

This new list allows me to be able to scour the internet to identify specific websites and communities to share.  It is probably not  complete, so if you have more additions, please let me know:

Go Social with Genealogy: 19 Types of Social Media

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2012 by in Facebook, Twitter and tagged , , , , , , .
