Go Social With Genealogy

Using social media to find resources and share what you know

Google+ Communities and 2013 “Go Social” Goals


{EAV:c69c389b8ef623b7}

Go Social with Genealogy

Go Social with Genealogy

We are leaving 2012 and coming into 2013 with one of the best outlooks for community building that I have seen due to Google+ Communities which are mushrooming up all over the place.  There is no shortage of them even if your interests happen to be genealogy or family history.  Just search them out.

I am so excited that I have already begun working toward my 2013 goals for Go Social with Genealogy.  Because of the nature of G+ Communities as far as SEO, ability to organize discussions and Hangouts, and visibility that Facebook groups do not have, we will find ourselves learning more, engaging more, and attracting more people who will share more.

If you are considering creating your own community, this is a great overview from HubSpot:  Google+ Now Lets Users Create and Join ‘Communities.’   I do have a word of advice that may help you if you have a page in addition to your profile at Google Plus.  When you create a G+ Community, you will need to do it logged on as your corresponding page profile if you have one.  All of my G+ Communities I have done this way except the first one, and now it is not linked to the page. I see no way at this time to combine it, and I do not think it is a good idea to start a new community at this point. If you would like to see an example, please let me know.

I was hesitant to start a Facebook group before now, and so I am very excited about Google+ Communities.  I have created a few of them so far.  On Extend Your Reach we focus on building communities across all major platforms.  The topics we will discuss there are broader and include people from every niche who want to focus on on building communities across all major platforms.  Of course, I am already a member of several genealogy communities on Google Plus, and content at Go Social with Genealogy is being curated.

By focusing the on the skills an principles that different industries apply, I believe I will be bringing insights and applying technology and media in new ways beneficial to you who are interested in community building or making genealogy easier.

Look for the following from Go Social with Genealogy in 2013:

1.  I will be discussing technologies that measure and increase social influence which helps as we branch out every now and then bringing in newbies and folks just learning about resources available through social media.   Building our influence will attract bigger audiences.

2.  I will be on the lookout for the most unusual ways to use new technology for resolving challenges or making genealogy related tasks easier.

3.  I will continue to bring you innovative ways that you can use popular social networks (as I did with Pinterest) to reach new audiences and grow networks.  This will be my focus in 2013, so stay tuned.

If you have not joined a community yet, the ones I belong to at the moment are below.   Please share with us the ones you have joined.

Genealogy & Family History

Collaborative Genealogy

African American Genealogy:  South Carolina

Tech for Genealogy & Family History Researchers

Family History and Genealogy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

